Trinamool advises MPs above 65 to skip monsoon session

Times of India, September 07, 2020

Based on the Centre’s advisory, several senior Trinamool MPs who are over 65 have been advised not to attend Parliament’s 18-day monsoon session, beginning September 14.

Sudip Bandyopadhyay, the party’s leader in Lok Sabha, senior MPs Sisir Adhikari and C M Jatua have been advised not to attend the session. Veteran parliamentarian Saugata Roy, however, is likely to be present. Senior RS MPs Subrata Bakshi and Sukhendu Sekhar Ray, the party’s chief whip, too are unlikely to attend the session.

“The MHA advisory has been conveyed to parliamentarians. Even in March, when Parliament was open, the party had advised its MPs to ensure Covid protocols,” a senior Trinamool leader said. “Clause 7 of the MHA advisory asks parliamentarians who are above 65 years not to attend Parliament.”

According to sources, Sukhendu Ray has already informed the Rajya Sabha chairperson about not attending Parliament. Former minister Dinesh Trivedi will attend only his swearing-in. Trinamool affairs in the Upper House will be conducted by its Rajya Sabha leader Derek O’Brien.

In Lok Sabha, lawyer Kalyan Banerjee, Trinamool’s chief whip, will manage party affairs. Roy has informed the party he was willing to attend the session.

According to sources, Trinamool’s younger MPs have been advised to attend the monsoon session while following Covid protocols. Parliament will remain open on all 18 days, with Rajya Sabha working from 9am-1pm and Lok Sabha from 3pm-7pm.

This news can also be viewed at: