Elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats on June 10. Check list of retiring members

Hindustantimes, May 12, 2022

The Election Commission on Thursday announced June 10 as date of polling for 57 Rajya Sabha seats in 15 seats – Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Odisha, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand and Haryana. The term of office for these MPs expires between June 21 and August 1.

Some of the prominent names set to retire are Union ministers Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman, as well as senior Congress leaders Kapil Sibbal and P Chidambaram.

Naqvi, the minister for minority affairs, is an MP from Jharkhand, while commerce minister Goyal and former home minister Chidambaram represent Maharashtra.

Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman represents Karnataka.

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut is also on the list, as is the Congress’ Jairam Ramesh. Raut also represents Maharashtra and Ramesh was nominated from Karnataka.

Name of retiring members Party State Term ends on
Suresh Prabhu  BJP  Andhra Pradesh  June 21
 T.G. Venkatesh  BJP  Andhra Pradesh  June 21
 Yalamanchili Satyanarayana Chowdary  BJP  Andhra Pradesh  June 21
 Venumbaka Vijaya Sai Reddy  YSRCP  Andhra Pradesh  June 21
 Lakshmikanta Rao Voditela  TRS  Telangana  June 21
 Srinivas Dharmapuri  Congress  Telangana  June 21
 Chhaya Verma  Congress  Chhattisgarh  June 29
 Ramvichar Netam  BJP  Chhattisgarh  June 29
 Vivek Tankha  Congress  Madhya Pradesh  June 29
M J Akbar  BJP  Madhya Pradesh  June 29
 Sampatiya Uikey  BJP  Madhya Pradesh  June 29
 T.K.S. Elangovan  DMK  Tamil Nadu  June 29
 A. Navaneethakrishnan  AIADMK  Tamil Nadu  June 29
 R.S. Bharathi  DMK  Tamil Nadu  June 29
 S.R. Balasubramoniyan  AIADMK  Tamil Nadu  June 29
 A. Vijayakumar  AIADMK  Tamil Nadu  June 29
 K.R.N. Rajeshkumar  DMK  Tamil Nadu  June 29
 K.C. Ramamurthy  BJP  Karnataka  June 30
 Jairam Ramesh  Congress  Karnataka  June 30
 Oscar Fernandes (Vacant w.e.f 13.09.2021)  Congress  Karnataka  June 30
 Nirmala Sitharaman  BJP  Karnataka  June 30
 Nekkanti Bhaskar Rao  BJD  Odisha  July 1
 Prasanna Acharya  BJD  Odisha  July 1
 Sasmit Patra  BJD  Odisha  July 1
 Piyush Goyal  BJP  Maharashtra  July 4
 P. Chidambaram  Congress  Maharashtra  July 4
 Praful Patel  NCP  Maharashtra  July 4
 Vikas Mahatme  BJP  Maharashtra  July 4
 Sanjay Raut  Shiv Sena  Maharashtra  July 4
 Vinay Sahasrabuddhe  BJP  Maharashtra  July 4
 Ambika Soni  Congress  Punjab  July 4
 Balwinder Singh  SAD  Punjab  July 4
 Om Prakash Mathur  BJP  Rajasthan  July 4
 Alphons Kannanthanam  BJP  Rajasthan  July 4
 Ram Kumar Verma  BJP  Rajasthan  July 4
 Harshvardhan Singh Dungarpur  BJP  Rajasthan  July 4
 Revati Raman Singh  SP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Sukhram Singh  SP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Syed Zafar Islam  BJP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Vishambhar Prasad Nishad  SP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Kapil Sibbal  Congress  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
Ashok Siddharth  BSP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Jai Prakash  BJP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Shiv Pratap  BJP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Satish Chandra Misra  BSP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Sanjay Seth SP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Surendra Singh Nagar  BJP  Uttar Pradesh  July 4
 Pradeep Tamta  Congress  Uttarakhand  July 4
 Gopal Narayan Singh  BJP  Bihar  July 7
 Satish Chandra Dubey  BJP  Bihar  July 7
 Misa Bharti  RJD  Bihar  July 7
 Ramchandra Prasad Singh  JD(U)  Bihar  July 7
 Sharad Yadav (Vacant w.e.f 04.12.2017)  RJD  Bihar  July 7
 Mahesh Poddar  BJP  Jharkhand  July 7
 Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi  BJP  Jharkhand  July 7
 Dushyant Gautam  BJP  Haryana  August 1
 Subash Chandra  Independent  Haryana  August 1

Overall, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra have the most number of vacant seats – 11, 6 and 6, respectively. Bihar has 5, with 4 open seats in Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Rajasthan.

There will be 3 vacant seats in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, 2 in Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Haryana and Jharkhand, and one in Uttarakhand.

The EC statement said the date of issue of notification for the elections will be May 24 and the last date to file nominations will be May 31. Scrutiny of nominations will be on June 1 and the last date of withdrawal of candidatures will be June 3. Hours of polling on June 10 will be from 9 am till 4 pm and the counting of votes will be from 5 pm.

“Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair elections,” the EC said, adding that all Covid-19 norms would be followed during the entire polling process.

This news can also be viewed at: