22 Bills passed in monsoon session

Business Line, September 09, 2011

As many as 22 Bills were passed during the just concluded monsoon session of Parliament. While the Lok Sabha passed 13 Bills, the Rajya Sabha passed 9 Bills during this session.

The monsoon session, which commenced on August 1 and concluded on September 8, also saw 14 Bills introduced by the Government, with 11 in the Lok Sabha and 3 in the Rajya Sabha.

The significant Bills introduced in the Lok Sabha include the Lokpal Bill 2011, the Benami Transactions (prohibition) Bill 2011, the Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Bill 2011 and the Nuclear Safety Regulatory Authority Bill 2011.

Both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha had passed the State Bank of India (subsidiary banks laws) Amendment Bill 2011.

This news can also be viewed at: